Why Are People Shitty Sometimes?

Leave a comment

Have I mentioned that I’m a little stressed out at work right now?  To make it even that much more interesting, I received a call to let me know that my program was going to be reviewed by the State Office on June 7.  BLARGH!  I knew it was coming, but not so soon.  It will be fine, though, just intense. 

All afternoon, I worked on a marketing piece for an upcoming promotion.  It’s going to be great, but this is our first year with this promotion, and putting all of this together for the first time has taken a tremendous amount of time.  Honestly, I need to release the reigns a little bit and let my assistant help more, but she is simply not ready to launch a promotion yet.  She’s great, though.  As she get a little more experience under her belt, she’ll do just fine.

Yesterday, I worked an 11-hour day.  I didn’t sleep well last night.  I barely took any time for lunch today.  I have a deadline that needs to be met.  Today, I was working on this project on top of the other piles of unfinished projects that are littered all over my desk.  I had my door halfway closed, so no one would just pop in to chat, which I usually enjoy.

Around 4:30, I was just finishing up and feeling a little proud of myself when my boss stopped by my office.  He is a great guy, truly one of the best people I have ever known.  He had just stopped by to touch base on his way out the door.  He said, “Weren’t you supposed to speak at the CDC meeting this afternoon?”

Oh…My….God…  I had completely forgotten.  For some reason, the meeting wasn’t on my calendar.  I completely rely on my phone beeping to remind me of meetings.  Dammit.  I had missed a meeting.  I had been on the agenda to report on the expansion of my program.  Yes….totally MY OWN FAULT.  I will only blame myself for being too stupid to take the time to look at my calendar.

Now, here’s what makes me really angry.  Dilbert (not his real name) is the one who asked me to speak at this meeting.  My office is in City Hall.  The meeting was upstairs in the Committee of the Whole meeting room.  UPSTAIRS….in the same building.  Dilbert had to pass by my office to walk up those stairs to attend the meeting.  It would have taken him approximately 30 seconds to have come down those same stairs to see why I wasn’t there.  I WAS IN MY OFFICE THE ENTIRE TIME. 

What an asshole!  Yes, it was MY OWN FAULT that I didn’t remember the meeting, but what kind of person just sits there KNOWING that I was in my office and doesn’t go check it out….or even pick up the phone and call?

No, it’s not just me.  He has no particular gripe against me.  He’s just one of those people who thinks that witnessing other people’s mistakes make HIM look better.  Well, that’s a hell of a way to make yourself look good, Dilbert. (and yes!  He DOES look like Dilbert!)

So how will I handle it?  I’m not sure at this point.  Part of me wants to go in and discuss this with him.  I want him to know that his actions pissed me off.  It doesn’t help our department moral to not help each other out.   As I think about it, though, nothing I say to him will probably make a difference.  In reality, there will be no repercussions due to the fact that I missed this meeting.  I will be OK, and I have plenty of people around to catch my back.

Most likely, I will do nothing.  It’s not my job to educate Dilbert on how to be a nice guy.  (Those of you who read the OTHER blog will know that I’ve beat my head against that wall lots of other times!)  I will let it rest.  Writing about it has helped.  I will move on and hope tomorrow will be a better, calmer day.

Leave a Reply

