Not Good News…And Alone

8 Comments

I am exhausted.  I don’t remember the last time I went to bed at a normal time.  I don’t remember what it was like to sleep through the night or to feel rested.  Tonight, I’m just feeling cruddy and worn out.

I’m not sure when things will ever settle down and feel right in my world again.  I try so hard to keep a good attitude.  I have been trying hard to place value on the things that are good and true in my life, but every time I turn around,  LIFE is waiting right there to slap me in the face.

Work is exhausting me.  The more staff I have, the more I delegate, the more responsibilities and duties are piled up around me.  Shit.  I am just so tired of having to maintain professionalism.  I want to slump back in my chair or crawl under my desk and take a nap.  Hey, or read a good book.  I remember when I used to enjoy reading.  I used to read over 300 books each year.  I kept a spreadsheet of author, title, date read, and my opinion of the book.  I used to write pre-publication reviews for a major publishing house in exchange for free books.  Oh, how I looked forward to each new shipment of books!  Did I really used to be that woman?  I would say I miss her, but I don’t.  She made a huge mess of my life and left me to dig my way out of it all.

I spent the day juggling.  I have issues.  I have a job to do.  My mom is still in the hospital and not doing well.  Yesterday, her doctors did an endoscopy and a colonoscopy.  There were problems.  A blockage was found.  Today Mom had an ultrasound and a CAT scan followed by a biopsy.  It was not good news.  She has ovarian cancer.

I received this news once I was already home from work, after visiting the hospital.  I pulled into a driveway full of cars.  My kids’ cars, T’s car, and my kids’ friends’ cars.  Oh, lucky me!  Everyone was going to be here for dinner.  After a day like today, I had to feed 9 people.  I actually took my plate of food out to the patio to eat.  The kitchen was crowded, and I just wanted to be alone.  Once the dinner mess was cleaned up, I went upstairs to call my mom to see how she was feeling.  That’s when I got the news.  I stood there alone.  T was on a bike ride.  The kids were all settled in.  Some were in the living room watching a movie.  Others were in the TV room playing video games.  I had made sure that their evening was going to be nice.  T was out enjoying the warm summer night.  There I stood, alone with my bad news.  Really?  Who gives a shit?

Those moments felt so damn lonely.  I’m an only child.  While I have never been terribly close to my mother, she is my mother.  Dad is gone.  I have no siblings still living.  My children, while they would be sad to lose Grandma, are not close to her.  It will not be a huge blow to them.  Their lives will go on as always.  T won’t care.  In fact, it will be a burden lifted from his life.  No more dealing with all of the issues that have been plaguing us since my father’s death.  So, I am alone in this, at least in these moments.  This does not touch anyone in this entire world in the way it touches me.  I am the daughter.  Soon, I will have no more parents.  Soon, I will have no family to fall back on, just the family that falls back on me.

Tomorrow will come….tomorrow.  I have to work.  I will be emceeing a concert tomorrow night.  I HAVE TO BE THERE.  No matter what goes on in my life or in my heart, there are so many things that I HAVE TO DO.  How will I juggle all that I HAVE to do?

Even now, I want to sleep.  I just want to pull the covers up and sink into blackness.  I can’t.   There are guests in my house.  T is watching TV on our bed, so I don’t have a place to sleep.  Andrew is still out, and I can’t settle in for the night until I know he is home safely.  There is laundry to be done.  I need to vacuum.

Yeah, I am in a shitty, complaining mood.  I just want the trauma, drama, and pain in my life to end.  I want to run away from my life.  I want to run away from being ME.  BEING ME  SUCKS.

8 thoughts on “Not Good News…And Alone

  1. I know your pain, believe me. I lost my parents a year and a half apart – Daddy from heart failure in his sleep, Mother from cancer. It was just over 6 years ago that I lost my dad. No one prepares us for this phase in our “childhood”. All I can say is, I am here for you.

    • Thank you, SS. It really is a comfort, because I know your words have meaning and love. When you say you’ll be there for me, I know you will.

      Hope you’re feeling better today.

  2. I don’t have any new or innovative words of comfort. I just want you to know that I’m thinking of you.

    Also – I know it feels as if T and your family are dependent upon you for so much. However, I really think if you asked for help from any or all of them, for whatever you may need or whatever task you need completed, they would step up and support you in ways you didn’t know they could. Try it.

  3. In re-reading my post, I wanted to make sure that I mentioned how truly sorry I am for your mother’s diagnosis. As you said, she is the only parent you have left. Sending love and hugs.

    • Ruby,

      Thanks! Yes, I was so very wrong not to accept/ask for help today. T has it going on in all the right ways sometimes. Tonight he said, without prompting, that he knew how difficult this was going to be for me even though my mom and I weren’t close. He knew that I would have a hard time with NO PARENTS. All on his own, he knew this and cared enough to actually say those words to me. It really meant so much. His concern was that he wanted our children to know how difficult this was going to be for me and to expect them to be sensitive to that fact. That was a pretty huge thing to hear! I was so proud and happy that he really did understand! 🙂

  4. So sorry to hear this terrible news. I too am an only child and sometimes I contemplate the future in fear and horror. Luckily and thankfully both my parents are alive and functional so they don’t need much from me at this point in time but I have no doubt the situation will change somewhere down the line.
    Be brave and strong and, as Ruby said, I am sure your family will be there for you when you need them. I’m also here, albeit only virtually 🙂 Stay well

    • Manon,

      Being an only child is a unique experience…both good and bad. Having my four kids has shown me what I missed, but it has also highlighted all that I was able to experience with my parents BECAUSE I was an only.

      Yes, none of this is easy, but thank you for the support! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Not Good News…And Alone | Kids say :

Leave a Reply

