July 2011 Playlist

2 Comments

In January of this year, I began making a new playlist each month for my iPod.  I took all of my 2010 playlists and dumped them into one big list quite cleverly named, 2010 Playlist.  I didn’t get rid of the songs, but I needed a fresh start.   Each month in 2011, I have created a new playlist.  I have kept some of the same songs from month to month.  Some of them are left over from last year, but each month I change things.  I remove a few songs.  I add a few more.  What started out as the desire to refresh my list of tunes, has turned into something else entirely.  Now that it is July, I can look back at the months of this year and remember what I was feeling and what I was thinking as I created and listened to each month’s playlist.  My musical selections have reflected many of the emotions I was/have been experiencing in my life at the time.  Of course, some of my selections mean nothing more than the fact that I like the song!

On the old blog, I posted my list each month, but I haven’t kept up that tradition on this new blog.  I’ve been too busy, too tired, or too lazy.  I was talking to my dear blogging sister today.  We were discussing music or particular songs.  She wondered about the playlists.  I felt guilty!!  I felt disloyal to my old blog, which I dearly miss.  I felt disloyal to my iPod(s), which have been giving me fits!  I have four iPods, and none of them are working properly right now.  It seems that I am in flux in about every area of my life.  Not much is working very well right now.

The Little White Pod is  just barely able to hold the July Playlist.  I miss having my other songs on my current iPod.  Those songs are just sitting there waiting for me to pull the trigger on a brand new iPod.  I’m not sure which model to buy.  I’ve looked at them, but none of them are speaking to me yet.

Below is the July Playlist.  My newest favorite artist is Amy Winehouse.  WOW!  Her lyrics crack me up, AND she is an awesomely talented musician.  I know her personal life is a bit of a train wreck.  Maybe that’s why I like her.  She makes MY life look tame!  🙂  The girls and I have been enjoying “Perfect Two” by Auburn.  Even T knows all of the words to that song, and it cracks us all up when he sings it!  I’m still hooked on Christina Perri and Adele.  They’re both so fantastic!

“F***** Perfect” by Pink has wonderful (if you overlook the F word!) lyrics.  A friend sent me the link to the video.  I have only watched it twice, once alone and once with the girls, and I cried each time.   (Well, I’ve watched it three times now!)  I’ve decided to include the video at the end of this post.  BEWARE.  The video is  graphic, but LIFE is sometimes graphic, my friends.  I would love to have  your comments on this video.  It says so much to me as a woman, a mother, a person who has been hurt, a person who doesn’t understand so much cruelty in the world, and a person who often feels much less than perfect….

JULY 2011 PLAYLIST:

Almost Blue Diana Krall
Almost Lover A Fine Frenzy
Arms Christina Perri
Ashes And Wine A Fine Frenzy
Baby Can I Hold You Tonight (acoustic) Tracy Chapman
The Back of Your Hand Dwight Yoakam
Back to Black Amy Winehouse
Bang Bang Bang Christina Perri
Bang Bang Bang (Live At Ocean Way Studios) Christina Perri
Battle Colbie Caillat
Be Ok Ingrid Michaelson
Black + Blue (Live At Ocean Way Studios) Christina Perri
Black And Blue Counting Crows
Black Coffee Everlast
Blinded By The Sun Everlast
Blue light Ben Webster
Bluebird Christina Perri
Breakeven The Script
Breathe Anna Nalick
Brings Me Down Collective Soul
Broken Everlast
Broken (acoustic) Seether
Broken Hearted Savior Big Head Todd and the Monsters
Bubbly Colbie Caillat
Bury Me Dwight Yoakam
Catapult Counting Crows
Chain Of Fools Aretha Franklin
Chasing Pavements Adele
Colorblind Counting Crows
Comfortable John Mayer
Crazy Love Ray Charles and Van Morrison
Creep Radiohead
Cry Me A River Justin Timberlake
Cumbersome Seven Mary Three
Cumbersome (Acoustic) Seven Mary Three
Darn That Dream Dinah Washington
Daydream (Live At Ocean Way Studios) Christina Perri
Departure Bay Diana Krall
Diamonds On The Inside Ben Harper
Dirty Little Secret Sarah McLachlan
Disappearing World David Gray
Distance Christina Perri
Does It Show Dwight Yoakam
Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Crying Ray Charles
Don’t Miss You At All Norah Jones
Don’t You Remember Adele
Down With The Sickness Disturbed
Dreams Collide Colbie Caillat
Drink Me (Acoustic Version) Anna Nalick
Drops Of Jupiter Train
Drops Of Jupiter (Train Acoustic Cover) Boyce Avenue
Easy Tonight Five for Fighting
Easy Way To Cry David Gray
Embraceable You Harry Edison
Empty Tables Frank Sinatra
F**kin’ Perfect P!nk
Fade Into You Mazzy Star
Falling Free David Gray
Fast Car Tracy Chapman
Feel Like I Wanna Cry Dinah Washington
Feelin’ Alright Grandfunk Railroad
Feeling Good Muse
Feeling Good Nina Simone
Fine and Mellow [Live] Billie Holiday & Lester Young
Flame Turns Blue David Gray
Fool For A Lonesome Train Ben Harper
Fool That I Am (Live) Adele
Foolish Games Jewel
Forgetting David Gray
Forgiveness Don Henley
Foxy Lady Jimi Hendrix
Fresh Out Of Love Benny Carter & Diana Krall
Friend Is A Four Letter Word Cake
From Here You Can Almost See The Sea David Gray
Funk No. 49 James Gang
Give Me One Reason Tracy Chapman
Goddamn Lonely Love Drive By Truckers
Gone For Good Morphine
Goodbye Hootie & The Blowfish
Goodnight Elizabeth Counting Crows
Gravity John Mayer
Gravity Sara Bareilles
Gravity (Live) Sara Bareilles
Green Eyed Lady Guess Who
Green eyes Coldplay
Grey Sky Morning David Gray
Gutters Full of Rain David Gray
 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You Van Morrison
Have You Seen Me Lately Counting Crows
He Won’t Go Adele
The Heart that You Own Dwight Yoakum
Here Without You (Acoustic) 3 Doors Down
Hey There Delilah Plain White T’s
Hold My Hand Hootie & The Blowfish
Hold On To Me Cowboy Junkies
Hold on to Nothing David Gray
Hook Blues Traveler
I’ll close my eyes Dinah Washington
I’ll Look Around Billie Holiday
I’ll Look Around (Previously Unissued Alternate) Billie Holiday
I’m Coming Through Diana Krall
I’m Pulling Through Diana Krall
I’m Riding Solo Gb’z
I’m Through With Love Arthur Prysock
I’m Through With Love Etta Jones
I’ve Changed My Address Diana Krall
I Believe I Can Fly R. Kelly
I Can’t Face the Music Billie Holiday
I Got It Bad And That Ain’t Go Etta James
I Just Tripped On A Piece Of Your Broken Heart Bobby Bland
I Never Told You Colbie Caillat
I Never Told You (iTunes Session) Colbie Caillat
 I Want To Know What Love Is Foreigner
I will survive Cake
If I Had Wings Darius Rucker
If the Moon Turns Green Billie Holiday
If Your Love Is Real David Gray
In Spite Of Me Morphine
In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning Frank Sinatra
Interlude Christina Perri
Into the Mystic The Wallflowers
It Makes No Difference The Band
It Makes No Difference The Band
It’s Been Awhile (Acoustic) Staind
Jar of Hearts Christina Perri
Jar of Hearts Christina Perri
Jar Of Hearts  LIVE Christina Perri
Jar of Hearts (Live At Ocean Way Studios) Christina Perri
Kind Woman Buffalo Springfield
Last Resort Papa Roach
Lately David Gray
The Lazy Song Bruno Mars
Lead Me Upstairs David Gray
Let Her Cry Hootie & The Blowfish
Let Me Take You Home Tonight Boston
Let the Truth Sting David Gray
Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong Spin Doctors
Little Wing Jimi Hendrix
Locust Street Black Crowes
The Lonely Christina Perri
A Long December Counting Crows
A Long December (Acoustic) Counting Crows & Ben Folds Five
Loser Beck
Loser 3 Doors Down
Lost Cause Beck
Love Is a Losing Game Amy Winehouse
Lovesong Adele
The Luckiest Ben Folds
Mad World Gary Jules
Make You Feel My Love Adele
Make You Feel My Love (Live) Adele
Maria Maria Santana
Marry Me Train
The Masquerade Is Over Aretha Franklin
Me & Mr. Jones Amy Winehouse
Meet Virgina Train
Miles Christina Perri
Mine Christina Perri
Mother Pray Ben Harper with the Blind Boys Of Alabama
Mr. Jones (acoustic) Counting Crows
My Oh My David Gray
My Own Worst Enemy Lit
Mystery Of Love David Gray
Narrow Daylight Diana Krall
Near To You A Fine Frenzy
Nemesis David Gray
Never Been Any Reason Head East
Never Gonna Give You Up Cake
Never There Cake
New Soul Yael Naim
Nice and Slow Usher
The Night Is Blue Ben Webster-Red Norvo & Harry Edison
No Place To Fall Norah Jones & The Little Willies
No Sugar Tonight The Guess Who
Oh Josephine Black Crowes
One and Only Adele
One For My Baby (live) Frank Sinatra
One More Night Darius Rucker
One Sweet Love Sara Bareilles
Only God Knows Why Kid Rock
Pale Blue Eyes Marisa Monte
Peel Me a Grape Diana Krall
Penguin Christina Perri
Perfect Blue Buildings Counting Crows
Perfect Two (Acoustic) Auburn
Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps Cake
Pictures Of Jesus Ben Harper & The Blind Boys Of Alabama
Purple Rain Prince
Put Your Lights On Everlast
Raining In Baltimore Counting Crows
Real Love David Gray
Realize Colbie Caillat
Right Through You Alanis Morisette
Rockabye Goo Goo Dolls
Rolling in the deep Adele
Round Here Counting Crows
 Round Here – Acoustic Counting Crows
Round Here (Piano) Counting Crows
Run-Around Blues Traveler
Running Out Of Lies Etta James
Sad Song Christina Perri
Sad Songs and Waltzes Cake
Sad, Sad Music Dwight Yoakam
Santaria Sublime
Satisfied Jewel
Satisfied Mind Ben Harper with the Blind Boys Of Alabama
Scars Papa Roach
Scars (acoustic) Papa Roach
The Scientist Cold Play
The Scientist Coldplay
Sexual Healing (acoustic) Ben Harper
Sexual Heeling Marvin Gaye
Share the Land The Guess Who
She Fuckin’ Hates Me Nickleback
She Talks To Angels Black Crowes
She Talks to Angels (acoustic with piano) Black Crowes
Short skirt, long jacket Cake
Fashion Nugget (Shut the Fuck Up) Cake
Signs Five Man Electrical Band
Since I’ve Been Loving You led zepplin
Sinners Prayer B.B. King/Ray Charles
Sister Sweetly Big Head Todd and the Monsters
so far away Staind
So I Need You (acoustic) 3 doors down
Someone Like You Adele
Someone Like You Adele
Stairway to the Stars Johnny Hartman
Stop This World Diana Krall
Summertime Sublime
Sweet Jane Cowboy Junkies
Take It All Adele
Take My Hand Ben Harper with the Blind Boys Of Alabama
Taking You Home Don Henley
Tears Dry On Their Own Amy Winehouse
Temptation Diana Krall
Tenderly Ben Webster
(There Is) No Greater Love Amy Winehouse
There Will Be A Light Ben Harper with the Blind Boys Of Alabama
These Days Without You Big Head Todd & The Monsters
This Time I’m Gone For Good Bobby “Blue” Bland
This Years Love David Gray
The Thrill Is Gone Tracy Chapman
Thrills CAKE
Tidal Wave David Gray
Till I Gain Control Again Van Morrison
Time Hootie & The Blowfish
Time and Time Again Counting Crows
Times Like These Seven Mary Three
Tragedy Christina Perri
Tragedy (Live At Ocean Way Studios) Christina Perri
Turn It On, Turn It Up, Turn Me Loose Dwight Yoakam
Turning Tables Adele
Twilight David Gray
Ugly like Me Limp Bizkit & Stained
Unwell Matchbox 20
Unwell (Acoustic) Matchbox Twenty
Wake Up Alone Amy Winehouse
Walk Away Ben Harper
Washington Square Counting Crows
Waste Phish
What’s Up 4 Non Blondes
 What Goes Around…Comes Around Justin Timberlake
What is there to say Johnny Hartman
When She Believes Ben Harper
When the Leaves Come Falling Down Van Morrison
When Your Lover Has Gone Frank Sinatra
Where Could I Go Ben Harper & The Blind Boys Of Alabama
Where I Stood Missy Higgins
White Trash Beautiful Everlast
Who Got the Hooch Everlast
Who Will Save Your Soul Jewel
Wicked Game Chris Isaak
Wreck of the Day Anna Nalick
Yellow Coldplay
 Yellow (Piano Version) Coldplay
Yellow Ledbetter Pearl Jam
 Yellow Ledbetter (Acoustic) Pearl Jam
You Are Too Beautiful John Coltrane & Johnny Hartman
You Better Go Now Etta Jones
You Can’t Count On Me Counting Crows
You Don’t Know What Love Is Dinah Washington
You Humble Me Norah Jones
You Know I’m No Good Amy Winehouse
100 Years Five For Fighting
6th avenue heartache (acoustic) counting crows & the wallflowers
2 thoughts on “July 2011 Playlist

  1. Thanks for sharing Pam. I love PINK. She has an amazing ability to put into words everything we think and feel about relationships and personal insecurities.
    It’s awful that you’re feeling so blah.
    Are you sure you were ready to give up your old blog? I know the purpose behind deleting it was to help you move on and close an unhappy chapter of your life. Has it worked though? From my perspective, it doesn’t seem to have worked. By not enabling yourself to release the whirlwind of emotions through your writing, it’s weighing you down more and more every day. You’re slipping backwards and you seem more unhappy than ever.
    Would it really hurt to start talking about things again? Would it actually make you feel worse do you think?
    I know you miss your old blog as do many of us out here still hurting. You, like Pink, have an uncanny ability to put into words how we are feeling too.
    Remember, we all heal at different rates and in different ways. I can’t help but think you should keep doing it your way. But if not writing about it is working, then that’s fantastic.
    Fiona. x

  2. Has it worked giving up the old blog? Well, in some ways, it has worked. In other ways, you’re right…I wish I had a place to vent/rage/mourn/ all the same old stuff, but I don’t think that was healthy, either. I needed to DEAL with reality. REALITY isn’t so good right now…. There is no other way to put it. While I have some very good things in my life, there are too many other things that are BIG and roaring and kicking and screaming their way to center stage. As painful and unhappy as my life often is right now, I can proudly say that it is honest and real. 🙂 Sometimes reality just sucks, you know….

    Hopefully soon, many of the most pressing issues will settle down or disperse or sort themselves out. Keep reading. It helps me to know that you’re out there reading! OH…and keep your fingers crossed and send good thoughts my way. I am supposed to be going on vacation in a little over a week. With so many things unresolved with my mother, I’m not even sure it will happen now. Oh, and how I need a vacation!!!

    Pam

Leave a Reply

