Random Thursday Thoughts

3 Comments

Witness Protection Program

As I walked across the parking lot and into work this morning in my same old tired clothes and my same old tired hair, I caught a glimpse of myself in the window of a car.  Who was that woman looking back at me?  Hmmm…  My hair looked like fluff due to the humidity and the wind.  Yuck.  I looked preoccupied, unapproachable, busy, and stressed out.  I’ll have to say that I did like my sunglasses.  🙂  I wasn’t too hard on that woman looking back at me, but I couldn’t get the image of my unruly hair out of my mind as I walked the rest of the way to the office.  I thought of cutting it.  I thought how easy it would be to have an ultra-short cap of hair.  Although, I’m not sure I have the bone structure to pull that off, I’d like to give it a try.  Ultra-short, ultra blonde.  Once again, I wondered how I could become part of the Witness Protection Program.  I could use a new look, a new name, a new life, a fresh start.

Here are a couple of looks I will be trying out in my new life on the lamb…

 

 

 

To Bikini or Not To Bikini

I am SOOO ready for a vacation.  Maybe the family trip to New Orleans will work out.  I hope so!  I better start planning for that trip, because we will be leaving in 9 days!  If my mom’s health is not stable enough to leave, then I am working on a back up plan for next month.  Either way, the sound of surf will be ringing in my ears in a matter of weeks!  YIPPEE!  But wait…I look horrible.  AND….I am getting old, and I’m out of shape, says the voice in my head.

I asked my daughter how old she thought was TOO old for a woman to wear a bikini.  “Oh…40,” she said.  Huh???  I reminded her that I AM OVER 40!   Boy, it must be nice to be 17 and still have all the right parts in all the right places.  She was a good daughter and retracted her original opinion.  She said, “Well….MOST women over 40 should not wear a bikini.”  Uh huh…  That’s better!

Still, I’m not sure what to do.  I love the sun.  I don’t want to sit there on the beach with my tummy all covered up just because it might offend someone else.  I looked at bathing suits online.  I can’t find a one-piece suit I like that wouldn’t make me feel like some kind of frumpy suburban housewife trying to hide her body behind a bunch of fabric.

So, there it is.  Once again, I will go against the grain.  I’m going to break the rules.  To hell with convention.  I will be wearing a bikini until the day I can no longer hobble out across the beach.

3 thoughts on “Random Thursday Thoughts

  1. You go girl!! I’ve seen the pics of you in a bikini on FB and you can rock it….just don’t try what the lil’ ol’ wrinkled lady has—cause THAT’S just TOO dang old (and icky) to wear one!!! Ha!! Hope you get a vaca…you need it!! I’m SO glad I got to go on one….I feel like I need another one since we got back though–isn’t that how it always goes?? 😉

  2. Thanks, guys!

    I talked to Emily about the whole ultra short/ultra blonde idea, and she said, “Mom, you’re taking this whole midlife crisis way too far!” She said I would regret cutting my hair immediately if I actually did it.

    Midlife crisis….well, that sucks!

Leave a Reply

