Perfect As You Are

5 Comments

Sometimes we need to remember that we ARE OK just the way God made us.  I am as guilty as anyone else out there of being my own worst enemy (another favorite song!)

As I drove along today with my sunroof open, the warm air streaming in, the blue sky above me, and the sun shining down on my head, I realized that YES, I am OK.  No, I know that I’m not perfect, but I am also beginning to realize that I need to have care, love, and respect for myself.  Being OK has to start with ME.

Just as I was thinking all of those things about putting an end to my eternal battle and endless self-criticism, the song Perfect came on.  “Change those voices in your head.  Make them like you instead.”  Easier said than done, huh?

One more thing that I want to share with you in this super-duper quick blog post is this Facebook page.  It is chock full of fabulous daily reminders that this great, beautiful world is larger than the thoughts that reel over and over inside our own heads.  I need to remember each and every day to look beyond the tip of my nose and find the good and beauty around me.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/You-ARE-Enough/246517085364842

 

5 thoughts on “Perfect As You Are

    • Morgan, I’m sorry that you needed this today, but I hope it did help. Just know….you have helped countless “others.” Your experience was not lost on this world You have made an impact. Take care and call if you ever need me.

    • SS….I might have gotten to that page through your FB page??? I’m not sure. In any event, it is a good, uplifting page. You will like it. What kind of place blocks FB from their employee’s???? Cruel!!! 🙂 I miss you, too. Hope you had an enjoyable weekend.

  1. Pam,

    Here is a link to a good article by a lady named Cathy Hill on self love / self acceptance: http://wisdomdigest.org/2011/05/the-importance-of-self-love.

    My personal way of thinking about it is as a waterfall over a series of steps. God is at the top, His love pours down on us and fills us up until we are overflowing and our love is pouring down on our spouses and kids, filling them up and they are in turn overflowing with love.

    It’s not so much making your inner voices like you but rather accepting your oneness with God, the perfect lover.

    Our culture seems so corrosive to the ability of women to accept themselves, though men are affected too. And so, I think of your daughters, and the importance of you and T seizing every opportunity to instill in them “being OK has to start with THEM.” And, honestly, “OK” is too tame – being wonderfully, totally, peacefully, joyfully accepting of all that God has created in them, as His beloved children (and, of course this goes for you too!)

Leave a Reply

