Looking For The Good

Leave a comment

Earlier, I wrote a blog post.  It started off OK, but then, as my writing often does, it began to head in a direction that surprised me.  My angst and frustration was pouring out through my fingertips!   My opinions are often strong.  My feelings are often deep.  That doesn’t mean that I need to throw all of my negativity out here on my poor blog.  I deleted that post, but still… I do feel better.  Writing it all out, pounding away at the keyboard, relieved some of the heaviness I was feeling.  Now, I’m going to concentrate on a few things that will head me in a better direction.  Here is another installment of things that make me happy.  🙂

 

1.  Coming Home!

My son, Andrew is coming home to visit this weekend.  I will be heading to the train station to pick him up in about an hour.  He called me a few minutes ago and told me how much he’s looking forward to riding in a car, seeing Pepper the Wondercat, and playing the piano.  He will only be home for the weekend, but it’s going to be great to have a chance to hang out with him.  He is so excited and happy  about school, and he’s excited for me to read a screenplay that he is working on.  Please keep him in your thoughts.  Send positive energy our way.  I’m so thrilled that it appears that he has found his niche.  I want his happiness and success to continue.  Oh, after all the troubles of this past year, it feels so good to relax and smile over my sweet son.

 

2.  My Trooper

The brakes went out on my car.  While that doesn’t make me happy, I just got a call from the mechanic telling me that she’s all fixed and ready to go.  I love my mechanic.  He is like the “Soup Nazi” of mechanics.  He’s from Israel and speaks with a thick, heavy accent.  He yells at me each time something goes wrong with my car.  My poor Troop has over 100K miles, and this is the first time I have had to fix the brakes.  Yet, he told me this morning, “You have to stop riding the brakes, Pam!”  I love that guy!  He always gives me exactly what I expect.

 

3.  T.  I love T.

He is the most straight-forward and honest man I have ever known.  I sent him a text this morning, “Sorry that I was being bitchy.”  (I was not happy to have to drive his  little peanut of a car to work this morning.)  When an hour went by without a response to my text, I called him.  I asked if he had gotten the text.  Yep.  I asked why he didn’t respond.  He said, “What did you want me to say, ‘Yeah, you really WERE a bitch this morning.'”  We both laughed.  Later, he called me during lunch just to say hello.  When I got back to the office, I saw that he had logged onto our cat’s Facebook account and “poked” me.  Pretty sweet guy.   More and more, I appreciate how simple he is to deal with.  I trust him.  He cares for me and those around him.  Safe and dependable.  While that might sound kind of boring, it sure beats the alternative!

 

4. Pixelmoda Watches!  

Once when I was in Chicago, I saw a woman wearing an amazing watch.  I seriously could not stop looking at it.  I loved the color, my favorite green.  I loved the size and the style.  I went on a mission to find this watch, and I found it online.  I now am the proud owner of a fabulous mint green watch.  I was prepared to pay a lot more money, but it only cost $24.99.  Not bad for an amazing watch!  To make my happy ending even happier, I wore the watch to Chicago on my last visit, and a lady on the train asked me where I had gotten it!  I was so very happy to help her find her way to true “watch love.”

 

I hope you all have a great weekend!  I hope we can all remember to take the time out to SEE the good things around us and to take a deep breath of appreciation.

Leave a Reply

