Facebook

5 Comments

 

I’ve made a decision.  I’m going to deactivate my Facebook account for the entire month of December.  For those of you who are my friends on Facebook, you’ll know that this will be a shock to my system.  I am a FB junkie.  I update my status several times each day.  (It’s a great way of venting…or cheering!)  Some days, I update my status MANY times.  I use Facebook on my cell phone, at work, and at home.   While  I don’t necessarily spend a great deal of time on Facebook, I frequently check in to see what’s going on.  I check Facebook in my office, while I shop, while I drive, before I go to bed, when I wake up in the morning, and numerous times throughout the day.

I have enjoyed reconnecting with old classmates on Facebook.  A group of us have begun meeting for dinner or drinks occasionally, and it has been fun to catch up and revive old friendships.  Facebook has been a good networking tool for my career as well.  I have deepened what would have been only surface work relationships by getting to know my colleagues as friends on Facebook.

On the other hand, I have encountered old “friends” who have attempted to take a Facebook friendship to another level.  Those guys have quickly been unfriended.  Then there are the people who are so “MY LIFE IS WONDERFUL” that it makes me sick when I know that the reality of their lives is far from what they portray on Facebook.  Others use Facebook as a political or religious platform.  I don’t unfriend those folks, but I don’t read a darn thing that they write, either.

I will miss keeping up with all of the various activities that my boys post on Facebook.  I suppose that I will have to email them or call them more often.  T has a Facebook account, and he can share any interesting pictures that the boys post.  Lord knows, I won’t miss seeing the college dorm party pics!

I’ll miss playing Bubble Witch Saga.  I’ll miss playing Bingo.  I’ll miss the quirky funny posts.  I’ll miss the jokes.  I’ll miss knowing every move that every one of my friends is making.  I’m very nosy, and Facebook is a fine outlet for us creepers!

Obviously I enjoy Facebook, so why would I impose this hiatus upon myself?  Recently I have been thinking about the amount of time I spend “plugged in” to my computer or phones.  What in the world did I do before I had this obsession?  What did any of us do before Facebook, computers, and cell phones?  I don’t know what any of you did, but I once did a lot of things that I no longer do.  I read books.  I owned a loom and wove rugs.  One winter, T and I learned how to paint with watercolors.  I played the piano, or the clarinet, or the saxophone.  Sometimes, I talked to real people face to face!  I baked bread, pies, cookies, and cakes.  I had sex!  I exercised.  There was a whole world of things that I once did without being connected to an electronic device.  For one month, beginning on December 1, I am going to see if I can get back to basics once again.

5 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. I think this is a fantastic idea! I support this 1,000%!

    I actually deleted my FB last year because I was wasting so much time being nosy and seeing what others were up to. I decided it was time to do more in my own life rather than reading about other people’s. I haven’t regretted the decision to let go of FB once! 🙂

  2. Ruby…so you’ve actually done it??? You don’t have a Facebook account? WOW!!! See? Now I know why you’re my hero! I am so impressed! You wouldn’t believe all the grief my kids are giving me over this. They can’t believe that I will actually go through with this decision, which is all the more reason to prove that I can do it! 🙂

  3. All my “Thankful” posts for November stopped on Thanksgiving…I just feel so over Facebook. I’m going to “disappear” for awhile–just to see who notices. I don’t want to delete my account because my kids and their friends seem to message me all the time–but I find myself logging on and logging off within seconds because I fall flat when I read some people’s crap. Like you, I hate all the “my life is so wonderful” posts or the “see what the politacal leaders are doing” posts—it gets old. No one is REAL these days. I often wonder when this phenomenon dies off if this generation will wonder why they didn’t just LOOK at someone or dial their phones and TALK to them instead of hiding behind a bunch of pictures and stupid quotes and lashing out in angry fits of stupidity for all of their 500 “friends” to see????
    I’ll email you…. 🙂

  4. Well, my dear, I have noticed your FB absence!

    What got me was one friend in particular whose FB statuses were all so “wonderful” over the Thanksgiving break, and she was texting me off and on telling me just how freakin’ miserable she really was! It’s awful, isn’t it, that FB has become a way people “market” their lives. Jeez!!!

    I will very much miss that connection with my kids. On the other hand, oftentimes, I probably know waaaay too much about every detail of what’s going on in their lives. How normal or healthy is that?

    Yes, please do email. I would really miss that! 🙂 Or….text or call. It’s not like I want to become a hermit, I just don’t want to feel like I’m smack dab in the middle of a reality TV show all the time…mine or anyone else’s!

Leave a Reply

