Ocular Migraine

1 Comment

I’ve just spent the past half hour as a semi-blind person.  For a while, I sat at my desk straightening papers.  There was no way that I could see my computer screen to type.  After a while, when I felt that I could walk down the hall without running into a wall, I made the rounds saying good morning to people and catching up after the weekend.  I was passing time, waiting for the shimmering to subside and the Ibuprofen to kick in.

Not many people know that I have frequent bouts of semi-blindness.  It’s harmless and has been going on for probably 20 years.

The first time it happened, I thought I was having a stroke.  I’ll never forget that day.  I was in Menards with T and the kids (the oldest ones, anyway.)  The shimmering began, migrated, and enveloped my vision.  I remember walking along behind the cart deathly afraid that I would soon collapse and die on the spot, yet I said nothing.  I wonder how long it took me to figure out that I wasn’t actally having a stroke?  I don’t remember that part!

My vision is clearing now.  There are just tiny rainbows shimmering in the periphery of everything around me.  I feel shaky and worn out, but there’s no time to worry about that.

Happy Monday Morning!

 

 

One thought on “Ocular Migraine

  1. Muscle tension can cause headaches and by relaxing muscles, especially in the neck, it is possible to relieve migraine headaches. Once the technique is learned there is no longer any need for the biofeedback equipment. The patient with migraine headaches can now produce the desired effect any time they wish. Sometimes too much salt can cause headaches. And by simply lessening the salt intake headaches can sometimes be prevented. Some migraine headaches are caused by food sensitivities. Certain foods can cause migraines and eliminating these foods can prevent migraine pain. Some common foods that can trigger migraine headaches are cheese, alcohol, monosodium glutamate (a food additive), nuts, beans, caffeine, chocolate, onions and others.*

    My own, personal web blog
    <i="http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/where-is-the-thyroid-located/

Leave a Reply

