Less Than Four Hours

Leave a comment

It’s on its way.  NOVEMBER.  God, how I hate November!  I have a calendar hanging in my office.  It has prints of art deco Parisian fashion plates, and I have loved seeing each new picture as I turn the page on another month.  However, in October, each time I have looked up at my calendar, I have felt dread.  Tomorrow,  I turn will turn the page to November.  For the next month, memories will haunt me.  So many bad memories crammed into a short span in the calendar year.  I should be grateful that the other months of the calendar are free from memories of loss, death, and confusion.  I won’t breathe freely until mid-December.  I’ll just be waiting for yet another tragedy to add to the tally.

For those of you who would like to read further about my distaste for November, feel free to look at last year’s November post:  https://pamsplanet.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/november-nauseates-me/

This year, I am going to try my best.  I’m going to try to create good memories this November.  I am actively seeking out things that will make me smile and warm my heart.  Tomorrow, I have plans with a good friend for lunch.  After work, I’m meeting with a friend from my former band days to catch up for an hour or so.

This year, November is going to be “The Month of the Bucket List.”  I’m going to take a couple of mini-vacations.  This November, I’m going to concentrate on cultivating the GOOD things in my life.  I’m excited, because I’m taking a “chick trip” with friends to do some shopping.  After Thanksgiving, Emily and I are going to Chicago to see Les Miserables on stage, a dream that I’ve had for years.  I can’t wait, and I know that I’ll be overwhelmed to finally have this dream come true.

November is just a month.  Sure, it has been crammed with bad events in the past, but that doesn’t mean that the trend must continue.  I am breaking free from the dread and the fear this year.  This is my life, and this will be MY November.

Leave a Reply

