Let Us Be Lovely

Leave a comment

 

 

 

I am a nice person.  I am kind and soft-hearted.  I truly do want those around me to be happy.

I am not perfect.  Yep, I certainly can be grouchy, pushy, even bitchy, but all it takes is one word from someone I care about (or even don’t!) and I will try my best to tone it down, be kind, cooperate.  Ask me for help, and I’ll do my best to help you.  Need an ear or a friend to listen?  Well, I will try to shut up long enough to be there.  Hugs, a shoulder to lean on, a hand to hold?  That’s me.  It’s so darn easy.  It’s not too much to ask.  Strip everything else away, and human kindness (besides food and shelter) is truly the most essential thing we crave.  I’m not an expect by any means, but it might rank right up there with our most basic biological needs.  Most of us understand that.  We need kindness, and we are more than willing to give kindness in return.

As I said, I am not perfect, but I am not nearly as bad as I have been imagining myself to be.  The mind is a tricky thing.  Those who get a kick out of messing with people’s minds engage in a game that is way too easy to win.  It’s easy to get a person to become filled with doubt.  Play on their need to give and receive HUMAN KINDNESS.  Get them to love you, trust you, and then do a complete 180.  Next step, blame them.  Don’t blame them openly, just start feeling sorry for yourself.  Make them feel guilty and inadequate.  Make them feel that if they only tried harder, everything would be OK again.  Good people will want to help you.  You’ll have them eating out of the palm of your hand in no time.  This, my friends, is what is called a toxic relationship.  Beware!  The danger is out there lurking behind the eyes of people who will be ever so happy to tell you what a “great guy” they are!

Life can be complex and painful, or it can be quite simple.  Like breathing, or having a bowl of cereal in the morning, living a life of kindness should come quite naturally and easily to normal people.  It should be part of our daily routine.  Making a choice each day to be kind, to be at peace, to live honestly and with integrity, will bring us back to a place of rest and peace at the end of the day.

At lunchtime today, I sat in my car thinking, relaxing, and eating a McDouble.  The sun was shining.  The sky was that beautiful, crisp, dazzling blue of an early autumn day.  My sunroof was open, and a cool breeze ruffled through my hair.  I felt peaceful and content.  As I sat there in the McDonald’s parking lot, I looked around me.  The guy across from me was sitting in his car, necktie loosened, reading the sports page.  He looked up, and I toasted him with a fry.  He smiled.  I smiled.  Life is good, and I am thankful that today I took a moment to open my eyes to the beauty and kindness all around me.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

